Current members

Jianbo Zhang, PhD

Principle Investigator

Tenure-track Assistant Professor

Department of Molecular Biology and Microbial Food Safety

Swammerdam Institute for Life Sciences

University of Amsterdam

Science Park 904, C3.262 

1098 XH Amsterdam

Phone: 020-5255143

E-mail:j.zhang6 at uva dot nl

Team members

Aly Eekhof, Secretary

Dennis Rijnsburger, Technician

Marco Lezzerini, PhD, Staff scientist

Raymond Pasman, MSc, PhD candidate

Yangwei Shan, MSc, PhD candidate

Virginia Bruno, MSc, PhD candidate (joint program with Gut Research group at AUMC)

Visiting scholars

Bouges Eloïse, MEng, PhD candidate at SCK CEN & University of Antwerp

Mirena Sakaj, PhD, postdoc at Wageningen University & Research

Master students

Vera Spek (January 2024 - July 2024)

Myrthe Beijnvoort (January 2024 - July 2024)

Johanna Böttcher (February 2024 - July 2024)

Jakshana Ananthasabesan (December 2023 - July 2024, Collaboration with Gut Research group at AUMC)

Bachelor students

Jocy Celie (February 2024 - June 2024)


Michael Lekkerkerker (November 2023 - May 2024)

Yizi Pan (December 2023 -  March 2024)

Finn Meyer, MSc thesis (January - October 2023)

Fenna Kootstra, BSc internship (February - June 2023), now MSc at UvA

Kirby R. Dick-Frank, WUR intern, now at CHUV Lausanne (2022)

Yizi Pan, MSc internship (2022)

Tessel Sligting, MSc internship (2022), now at InBiome

Selin Alpagot, MSc (2022)